Last Week of Teaching – Recap

Disclaimer: Originally posted on the SUNY New Paltz Study Abroad Student Blog Posts – a few edits may have been made.

I’m down to the last week of teaching, and although it has only been two weeks of teaching in South Korea, it feels like two months. I am surprised at the rapid growth of my relationships with my students, and other English Village teachers. To be honest, I wish the English Village lasted a little longer, I still need my students to show me around South Korea! I will be taking a Korean language during my stay here, so hopefully I will be able to grasp onto the language ad utilize it to survive.

Since last time I posted, I have been to Myeongdong (명동), a shopping district, and saw the musical Ghost, which one of the three male leads is the Joo Won (주원), an amazing actor.

Myeongdong (명동) was a little too crowded for my liking, and even though I am from New York and have a similar shopping district I often go to back at home, Soho, I would prefer to not have to go through crowds wherever I am at. WARNING: if you come to South Korea and walk through Myeongdong (명동), you will get lots of free samples! I like that Myeongdong (명동) have a good amount of American, Western, and Korean clothing brands. American as in Forever21, Uniqlo, and American Apparel – just naming a few on to top of my head. Western brands such as H&M, and Zara. Korean brands such as Star 101, and Red Eye and definitely others, but those two are brands that I frequently go to when shopping.

I also really enjoyed the “underground” market. The $10 clothing rack was my best friend last weekend! Korea has a very extensive “underground” market, and when I say underground I do not mean that they are sketchy places to shop, they are literally underground, like you go through them while you are at the train station. You can find relatively cheap items here.

Transitioning to the musical. Sighs, I was not able to see Joo Won perform, but I did see Joo Won in the flesh when all the cast members came up on stage. Me and my friend bought tickets for thee last show, thus all the cast came out on stage. The musical itself was spectacular. The settings and the props used was amazing, and it was definitely worth the $112 – I was pretty close to the front and little to the side but still had an amazing view. I could tell this production cost a lot of money and took an immense amount of effort and time so even though I bought the ticket expecting to see Joo Won perform, I am not even mad. It was definitely worth the money.

For now, I am looking forward to getting a haircut, going to Insadong (인사동), going to COEX Aquarium, and exploring all that South Korea has to offer me.

안녕, V

Leave a Reply

