Puerto Rico {Day 3}

Check out my vlog on my YouTube channel!
Click on the picture to see my vlog:

Untitled drawing-13

Brunch @ La Mallorca

So my friend Iris told us we’d be going to this place for brunch the next day because it has sugar powdered sandwiches. I did not know how I’d feel about mixing my meal with powdered sugar. I mean, I love dessert and sweets. However, I normally keep those two apart from each other. Good thing the place had other things on the menu, so we got a sandwich to share, and then our own meals.

Oddly enough, I did not hate the sandwich. I do not think I would gravitate to it often, but I liked it more than I thought I would. So I would definitely recommend getting this if you’re at Old San Juan. This is something I have never encountered in New York City, and do not see often in New York City, so I am glad that I was able to try this while I was in Puerto Rico.

As for our individual meals that we ordered, as seen in the video, I ordered a “stuffed chicken with plantains” with rice and beans. The chicken was not stuffed with plantains or anything at all, so I’m not really sure why it was called that, but it was delicious. The chicken’s meat came apart so easily. The beans were on point like always. Plantains were also bomb.

I forget what my friends ordered but one of them ordered a Gumbo, which is a stew with rice and meat – so in Asian terms like a congee or if you got a soup and you added the rice to it. It was delicious and definitely a dish that was up my alley. Another thing on the menu that I recommend!

Journey to Casa Bacardí

Untitled drawing-14

We walked over to the pier where we would have to take the ferry to the other part of the island. This was a better method for us because it would be easier to go across the water than to drive around the land and get to Cataño. The ferry was also really cheap, it was 50 cents one way. It also was not a long ferry ride, unlike the one we had to take the next day.
Untitled drawing-12Once we got to the island we took an uber to Casa Bacardí, which was cheaper than taking the taxi. Then we decided on just going on the historical tour because it was the cheapest and you could get a complimentary drink with your Bacardí cup. The other options were the rum tasting tour, which included everything in the historical tour with a rum tasting option. Then the mixology tour included the cup, drink, rum tasting, and an option to mix your own drinks. This option had separate timing options, since you would be taking a class.

As promised in the vlog, here is the reason why the bat is the symbol of Bacardí.

When the family made the distillery, which was originally in Cuba, there were a lot of fruit bats lingering around the distillery. The wife took the bats as a symbol of fortune as it could ward off misfortune, although bats were related to vampires and bad omen. Another reason on how the bats are beneficial to the Bacardís is the fact that they help pollinate the sugar canes that are used to sweeten the alcohol by eating the bugs that would ruin the sugar cane.

Other things that stood out to me during the tour was the amount of details within the distillery tour portion. The actual machine was that was used in Cuba was also in the tour. The tour guide also told us that if they actually wanted to, they could still use the machines, it would just take a while to make it. Another part of the tour that I liked was the rum smelling section. They had each rum in a container with a metal mesh cover so you could get a sniff of each all the products. The video that was used in the tour was a little outdated though, so they should probably update that.

Post Casa Bacardí we went to the beach.

The beach we went to is called Condado and it was BEAUTIFUL. We took an uber from Casa Bacardí to the beach, which did not take that long. The beach had blue crystal clear water that was to die for. There was also a hotel at the beach, so that could be another lodging option for those who are visiting Puerto Rico.

Leave a Reply

